GameMaker: Studio

GameMaker: Studio

View Stats:
Kill enemy by jumping on it head
So I want to jump on an enemies head and kill it, and take damage if i touch it from the sides etc.

So i have set this up as

variable, If direction is greater then 225
destroy instance

else

take damage basically.

but i cant seem to kill the enemy, i just take damage. I will upload a screenshot of what I have when imgur is working again. But if anyone can help out with what the problem could be, it would be very helpful

http://imgur.com/2i7CvkM
Last edited by Donna Pinciotti; May 21, 2016 @ 10:04am
< >
Showing 1-14 of 14 comments
woods May 20, 2016 @ 5:25pm 
quick thought in the dark... relative check to player or to enemy?
if its not set to enemy, it would read direction 225 to player?
Donna Pinciotti May 20, 2016 @ 5:35pm 
I am using the drag and drop icons. and the test variable is set to self, so i assume that is player.

Sorry im not really good at understand coding, but i think that is what you mean :sfsmile:
PeepoSalmon May 21, 2016 @ 5:26am 
make the head a seperate object to follow the body, when the player makes contact, damage will be taken
Donna Pinciotti May 21, 2016 @ 10:04am 
finally got imgur to work so this is the set up i have for it

http://imgur.com/2i7CvkM
woods May 21, 2016 @ 1:04pm 
first glance at your variables..

if dir is greater than 225
if dir is less than 226

how much of a difference between those to numbers?

your target window for hitting and not taking damage is
....ummm -1 pixel ;/

===

i would go something closer to greater than 200 and less than 250(play with your numbers here til you get the proper strike zone) for your first variable and instead of the second variable i would use "else"

that would give you more of a cone shape from the north/up direction for your allowable hit direction
Last edited by woods; May 21, 2016 @ 1:07pm
Donna Pinciotti May 21, 2016 @ 1:38pm