Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

2d vs 3d graphics complexity - isometric rpg

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by douglassophies, Aug 16, 2014.

1. douglassophies

douglassophies

I am a programmer with no 2d or 3d art skills to speak of looking to make a Baldur's Gate-like isometric RPG. When everything is ready on my end, i will look to bring an artist on board but i need to know the right number of dimensions to use for a smooth, quick art production.

Originally i was going to make it 2d, but when i realised how inefficient it would be for an artist to make 8 directions for every animation, i decided that everything that can move would be modelled and animated with a frame capture used to create the final sprite sheet. Then i wondered if the terrain would also benefit from this and why not make it all 3D?
    My main concern is that my lack of knowledge of lighting, shadows and other artistically concerned effects in both 3d and 2d games might lead me to making a misinformed decision. For example, will the fact that i want daylight, twilight and night time scenery mean 2d images will take 3x the work while 3d models benefit from a single control on the light source? I need to do a lot more of my own research but i was hoping a discussion here would help me off to a good start so i know what skills i will need from an artist.

Bit of background: