IGNORED

Floppy Bird ported to Atari 5200

freetz

Hi everyone,

last month, I coded a Flappy Bird clone for the 8-Bit Atari, called "Floppy Bird". It differs from other versions mostly because of its small size - less than 1kB.

AtariAge-User Aking asked me to do a port for the 5200, and although I've never done that before (and Floppy Bird was my first piece I wrote in 100% assembler after a 20 year hiatus not coding for the Atari), it was easier than I thought. On the 5200 it's obviously larger, 32kB, but contains the same features as the 400/800 version (cooperative two player mode, increasing level of difficulty etc.).

The result can be downloaded here as a ROM-file:

http://frederik.hol.st/atari/8-bit/mystuff/floppy52.rom

It works well in my emulator (Atari800MacX), but I have no means of running it on my original 5200, so maybe someone could test it out.

One thing I couldn't get to work was the random number generator (RANDOM, $E80A), it always returns the same number. Thus I had to use a steadily incrementing counter instead. It still works fine, I guess.

The 1kB version for the Atari 400/800 can be found here:

http://ftp.hol.st/atari/8-bit/mystuff/floppybrd.xex

Enjoy :)!

Frederik

• Like 5

Thanks to a hint from Paul Lay, I changed the ROM file now so that it includes the proper boot screen. It still contains the diagnostic code byte, but copies the initialization routine from the ROM and patches it according to the code I found in this forum. Could someone please let me know if it works on a real machine now? I only have a Atari800MacX to test it and it runs fine both ways, so this does not seem to be a good indicator.

Would have loved to have a SD-card adapter, so I can test it on my real 5200 :)...

Best,

Frederik

well ,

did some extensive testing

atari 800win works great

Altirra works with no sound

real 5200 4port and 2 port with ultimate sd carts

one and a half second black screen

(needs the title andFuji Logo screen)